Pikuma: Testimonials

What students are saying...

5.00
5 star
100.0%
4 star
0.0%
3 star
0.0%
2 star
0.0%
1 star
0.0%
Andres Mata
"Awesome course! This course really helped me to fill in the gaps. Gustavo is an excellent teacher and I enjoyed this journey to the intricacies of the VCS programming a lot."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
15 Mar 2022
Francesco Puleio
"Well spoken and delivered, makes the process so far easy to follow and provides an understanding of the next progression in the journey."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
14 Feb 2022
Pablo Sanchez
Pablo Sanchez
"Amazing course!I am so so so happy that I bought it! Gustavo is what I call a teacher by heart! You can tell that he enjoy teaching you stuff! If you want to learn something meaningful, just start looking at the beauty of Atari 2600 and his MOS 6507."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
05 Jan 2022
William Wheelock
"I've spent the last 25 years writing code with high level programming languages and have only recently begun to explore the roots of the code. This was a highly informative and entertaining way to start learning assembly."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
26 Apr 2021
Roman Agarounov
"Awesome course!

One of the best in the internet, learning a lot from it - very easy for beginners too!"
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
23 Apr 2021
Sam Pollard
Sam Pollard
"Would give 6 stars if I could. I can tell you that 'from scratch' is correct! - nothing is left out, everything is explained in crystal clear detail, and there's a perfect combination of theory and coding demos; Gustavo really knows how to teach. Highly recommended."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
08 Nov 2020
Pierre Boberg
"Very good course to learn the basics of Assembly, a lots of tips and tricks and very good teacher. I enjoyed it very much."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
22 Oct 2020
Rafael Munhoz
Rafael Munhoz
"Very Very nice course. I was alone trying to learn from a book but there are some concepts that were too hard to understand alone."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
01 Oct 2020
Fernando Romo
"Excelent!!"
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
06 Sep 2020
Ajay Khanna
"As a long-time programmer, this course felt like a going on a great short vacation with an excellent guide. Gustavo informs everything with a delight in what can be achieved by clever hacking with limited means, and can be very subtle with depth (for example, I first thought the scoreboard was an odd choice for a long video, but it turns out that it involves some sweet bit-masking and opens the door to asymmetric playfield rendering)."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
19 Jun 2020
Kevin Yeo
"Excellent course, well presented in a logical sequence. I've been going through this course and the material is very well presented and delivered in a sensible and logical order. There are times when I have struggled and this is down to the devil being in the detail. Assembly language and assemblers appear to be very picky, so sometimes things like spaces matter and make the difference between disaster and success. However, when I've scrutinised the problem it's been remedied by carefully analysing everything and being very exact. This shouldn't put you off, I've been meaning to learn some form of assembly language programming and the Atari and the 6502/6507 is the perfect platform, you don't even need a console."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
16 May 2020
Steven Litt
Professor at New York University
"This class is a great primer on the basic practical concepts you need to understand in order to make a game in 6502 assembly... I'm happy to say this class was one of the coolest things I've done in a while!"
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
05 May 2020
Javier Arzarello
"Muy buen curso.

Curso muy completo para la iniciación en la programación del Atari VCS, y en la iniciación en Assembly.

Muy bien dictado por Gustavo."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
04 May 2020
Samuel Ward
"I think that Gustavo does a very good job of explaining the concepts, opcodes, syntax, etc. The video graphics are a superb addition. My only concern is this: I have a good bit of experience with Assembly language programming, so I am comfortable with the lessons and material; however, I wonder how someone with zero Assembly language programming experience will handle such a quick crash course. I am also a little skeptical that with the remaining 7 or 8 hours of instruction videos, Gustavo will cover enough material to give a new 6502/6507 programmer (like me) enough instruction to make that person comfortable / competent enough to actually write code for an Atari video game. I'm skeptical yet hopeful! So far I am pleased with the course."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
10 Apr 2020
Antonio Herrera Martin
"Great Introduction. I has all the basic ingredients to start practicing and playing with the development of games for the Atari 2600, but it also can help to gain an insight in other similar consoles which possess similar characteristics."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
31 Mar 2020
Jason Gilroy
"Great Course. This is a subject I have approached on my own on a few occasions, but this is the course that helped me finally get the basics down at a fundamental level. It is definitely a "101", but I think that is why it is effective. It strips away a lot of the complicating factors for assembly (and atari) newbies like timers and esoteric addressing modes and presents the absolute fundamental basics in well ordered and structured way. If I have a complaint it's that the very end of the course tries to cram in too much into too short a time. I would happily purchase an intermediate course on this subject with this instructor."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
26 Jan 2020
Ajay Khanna
"So much fun. As a long-time programmer, this course felt like a going on a great short vacation with an excellent guide. GP informs everything with a delight in what can be achieved by clever hacking with limited means, and can be very subtle with depth (for example, I first thought the scoreboard was an odd choice for a long video, but it turns out that it involves some sweet bit-masking and opens the door to asymmetric playfield rendering). In this era when assembly programming on current platforms (x86 etc) has fewer applications (I think), I wonder if this is the right way to teach it: through constrained systems and games."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
28 Dec 2019
Pedro Vicente
Pedro Vicente
"Good. Very well concieved. keep the work and show more"
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
09 Dec 2019
Eren Fraser
"Makes assembly very accessible. I really gotta thank Gustavo for making this course, definitely allows people to get their feet into assembly and shake their fears, hopefully I plan to get involved more into 2600 homebrew development and maybe C64 or NES as well. Great to have someone making retro development more accessible by making comprehensive courses, would love to see more platforms as well (Teach MIPS ASM via N64/PSX development? :) ) Again, very accessible and fairly comprehensive, highly recommended."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
16 Aug 2019
Lexington Alexander
Creator of Dev Cart Magazine
"Wish there was a second course, but I know what steps are next. This course provides the fastest path to foundation Atari 2600 game development that I'm aware of. I hope more people learn assembly game development for retro systems this way. My only complaint is that the pacing of the course lags at some points. I feel like I spent more time watching code being typed on screen than was necessary. It would have been better to cut and paste prior written code or to talk through code that had already been entered on screen. Overall, the step-by-step lessons provided are a world above trying to figure out what words to type into Google and jumping around from website to website. Why does it have to end here!"
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
07 Jul 2019
Nicole Durrant
"I've just about come to the end of the course and I have to say it's been a deeply enjoyable experience from beginning to end. The course covers most key points necessary to program games on the Atari 2600, even closing with creating an entire game on the system. If you are interested in learning about the Atari 2600, this is easily the most accessible and beginner friendly way to go about it. I would also recommend trying this course if you are simply interested in Assembly programming or learning about the fundamentals of computing."
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
08 Apr 2019
Milos Stojanovic
"Great course! Fantastic, engaging teacher, looks like a nice person, trying his best to explain things in simple way, the gift that every teacher should have. Keep up the good work, expecting more courses from you :)"
6502 Assembly for the Atari 2600
02 Apr 2019